BLOG TOUR: THE COLOR PROJECT EXCERPT + GIVEAWAY


I'm super excited to be participating in the blog tour for The Color Project by Sierra Abrams! Guys, this book is seriously something special. I just finished reading it and I'll have my review up within the next few weeks, but what I can tell you. . . There's lots of swooning, laughs, and even tears to be shed. But there is SO much hope in this beautiful story, too. I honestly can't wait for everyone to devour this book like I did!

Today, I'll be sharing a special excerpt! I was SO happy when I read it because it's actually from one of my favorite scenes. I even made this aesthetic on Twitter while reading:


I JUST LOVE BEE AND LEVI SO MUCH.
Special thanks to Booknerd Addict Blog Tours for hosting. You can visit all the other participants by following the links at the end of this post. Make sure to enter the giveaway for the beautiful tote inspired by The Color Project, too!
Enjoy!



The Color Project by Sierra Abrams
Release Date: July 18, 2017
Gatekeeper Press

Bernice Aurora Wescott has one thing she doesn't want anyone to know: her name. That is, until Bee meets Levi, the local golden boy who runs a charity organization called The Color Project.
Levi is not at all shy about attempting to guess Bee's real name; his persistence is one of the many reasons why Bee falls for him. But while Levi is everything she never knew she needed, giving up her name would feel like a stamp on forever. And that terrifies her.
When unexpected news of an illness in the family drains Bee's summer of everything bright, she is pushed to the breaking point. Losing herself in The Color Project - a world of weddings, funerals, cancer patients, and hopeful families that the charity funds - is no longer enough. Bee must hold up the weight of her family, but to do that, she needs Levi. She'll have to give up her name and let him in completely or lose the best thing that's ever happened to her.
For fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson, The Color Project is a story about the three great loves of life - family, friendship, and romance - and the bonds that withstand tragedy.





E X C E R P T

INTRO: "This scene, from chapter 8, is Bee's third time spending any length of time with Levi, and the first time they have a little moment over the discussion of stars. It's one of my favorite moments in the whole book (that doesn't have a spoilery thing in it)."


    Outside, the sky is clear and full of a thousand stars, a perfect summer evening, with a slight breeze coming down the hill in our neighborhood.  I laugh for no good reason and for every reason all at once.  Something about today is just…happy.  I’m not even mad when Tom pulls his car onto the main road (going in the opposite direction of the beach) and asks, “Hey, mind if we pick up Levi first?”
    Of course, I have to pretend to be mad, as all good little sisters do.  I groan, sinking into my seat.  “You tricked me into this.”
    Tom pats my knee.  “You’ve got to get over your fear of…whatever you’re afraid of.”
    I don’t deign to answer that, so instead roll down my window and let the night wind wash over me.    (WhyamIblushingwhyamIblushingwhyamIblushingwhyamIblushing—)
    It turns out Levi lives on 10th Ave., about two minutes from my house, and he’s already waiting for us.  He slides into the back seat and slaps Tom on the shoulder.  “Great timing, man, my mom’s baking again and—”
    He sees me.
    I smile.
    He grins.  It cracks his face in the most adorable way.  “Bee!  I was expecting Andy.”
    The way he says it--like he’d rather see me than Andy--makes me far happier than I expected.  “Nope, just boring old me.”
    “Never boring.”  Levi gives Tom a sidelong look.  “Where’s Andy?”
    Tom sighs and pulls out onto the road.  “Not here.”  Levi and I exchange what (I think) could be called a “knowing” look, and—fine, I’ll admit that it thrills me.
    Eventually, Tom turns up the music, and we ride in silence for a few minutes.  I lean with my left elbow on the console, my head tipped back, my eyes closed as I sing along softly.  Then I feel someone tapping my arm.  It’s Levi, straining against his seatbelt to get closer to me, and he’s pointing up.
    The open moon roof displays a wide variety of stars.  Out here on the highway, there are no streetlights or neighborhoods—it’s just a straight shot around the mountain, on the side of the cliff over the reservoir, and then through the hills—so it’s very dark and quiet.  I look up with Levi, our heads semi-close, and smile.
    He asks, “Do you know the stars?”
    “Not really.”
    “Me, neither.”
    “It’s a shame,” I sigh.
    “I can be rather stupid.”
    Embarrassed, I hurry to say, “That’s not what I meant.”
    He laughs, and I laugh, and find that it is incredibly difficult to keep my eyes on the stars when Levi’s sitting next to me.
    “I meant,” I add, “that I wish one of us did.”
    “Yeah.”
    I adjust in my seat, to make the conversation easier.  “Stars are almost…like…moments.  To me.”  As soon as these words come out of my mouth, I start to feel stupid.  Do I sound stupid?  I don’t know where this is coming from; I’ve never consciously thought about it before.  It’s always been a thought at the back of my mind, like I like chocolate ice cream, and I would marry Matt Smith if he asked me, and my mother wants me to go to college.
    Somehow, The stars are like moments to me fits on this list.  “It’s like…they’re twinkling and staring us right in the face, but we have to be brave enough to grab hold of them.  You know?”
    Levi looks at me, then sits back in his seat, still looking, still studying.  Like he’s pondering.  Somehow, this puts my nerves to rest.
    “You’re right,” he says, finally.  “You’re absolutely right.”



MEET THE AUTHOR


At 7 years old, Sierra Abrams decided that one day she would publish a book. For over a decade, in between exploring other career options, she kept coming back to that very first dream. Now her life consists of writing books of all kinds... Kissing books, angsty books, killing books, whimsical books, and sometimes books that are all of the above. When she's not writing, you can find her reading, traveling, consuming sushi, or daydreaming about Henry Cavill.



G I V E A W A Y





FOLLOW THE BLOG TOUR

MONDAY JUNE 19
Interview - Brittany's Book Rambles
Review - Reads and Thoughts

TUESDAY JUNE 20
Excerpt - The YA Book Traveler
Review - The Hermit Librarian

WEDNESDAY JUNE 21
Review - YA and Wine
Guest Post - Lime Light Literature

THURSDAY JUNE 22
Review - Avd Reader
DIY: The Color Project Bookmarks - Lois Reads Books

FRIDAY JUNE 23
Excerpt - The Reader & The Chef
Mini Review + Favorite Quotes - The Life of a Book Nerd Addict

SATURDAY JUNE 24
Interview - Curly Hair Bibliophile
Mood Board - Wonderfully Bookish

SUNDAY JUNE 25
Review - Morrissa Reads
Guest Post - A Thousand Words a Million Books

MONDAY JUNE 26
Ways to Support Your Favorite Causes - Tales of the Ravenous Reader
Review - InkDin

TUESDAY JUNE 27
Review - I Love Books Girl
Interview - Brooke-Reports

WEDNESDAY JUNE 28
Book Hangover - Fables and Fae
Guest Post - Tiff the book nerd

THURSDAY JUNE 29
Review - Book Wyrming Thoughts
Excerpt - Simply Nicollette

FRIDAY JUNE 30
Review - Little Reds Reviews
Creative Post - Lost in Ever After

SATURDAY JULY 1
Review - Biscottos Books
Interview - A New Look on Books


- - -


Hope you all enjoyed the little preview of The Color Project! Look for my book review soon!


xxo


2 comments :

  1. I'm so so excited to read this book. It's one of my top July releases that I'm looking forward to. I love the excerpt that you choose to share as well.

    I'm new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I'd love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. SO happy to hear that you're looking forward to this book! It's such a beautiful story and I hope you enjoy when you read it! <3

      The great thing about blogging/being a book reviewer is that EVERYONE is different. So, the only true tip that I have for you is to make sure to keep it fun for yourself and stay true to who you are. Don't be afraid to give your honest opinions. Good luck! Looking forward to reading more from you! - x

      Delete